MHFA - Top Arrow

Australian Mental Health Awards


Australian Mental Health Awards 2021

Mental Health Foundation Australia recognises the achievements and contributions of individuals, organisations and groups. Each year during National Mental Health Month, we celebrate those working tirelessly to stamp out stigma and raise awareness of, and advocate for mental health in 5 categories. 

These eminent people and groups set a benchmark and shed light on how we can all work towards achieving better mental health for all. They inspire us through their achievements and challenge us to make our own contributions. 

Awards Categories



Criteria for Nominations

In choosing the receipients for the awards, regard is given to the nominee's achievements in the year as well as the contributions past and present made towards positive mental health within the Australian community. 

 The Selection Criteria are:

  • A significant contribution towards a positive mental health sector.
  • An inspirational role model for the sector to follow.
  • Demonstrated excellence / innovation in service delivery.

Please click on the circles above to know more on the selection criteria for each award.


Entry Requirement

Nominations entries are free for members, we encourage you to be a member of the Mental Health Foundation Australia. Our membership base includes but is not limited to passionate individuals such as people from the community at large, professionals, students, our Australian multicultural and youth ambassadors, not-for-profit organisations, and the private sector. Together we stand for better mental health for all, through one voice and shared goals.  



  • Nominess must be Australian Citizens.
  • Self Nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nominees must be atleast 18 years or age or older for the Advocate of the year, between 16 years - 25 years to be eligible for the Youth of the Year award and 60 years and over for the Senior of the Year.
  • Unsuccessful nominees maybe renominated in subsequent years.
  • No weight is given to how many times, a person is nominated.
  • Groups of people or a couple will not normally be eligible, though in exceptional cases the selection panel reserve the right to consider such nominations.


Key Dates

  • June - August: The Mental Health Foundation Australia calls on individuals and organisations to nominate befitting people to the National Mental Health Awards.Following your nomination, you will be sent confirmation that it was received. It is important you provide us with current and correct details to ensure we can keep you updated on the outcome of your nomination.
  • August - September: Once the nomination period closes, all the nominations are sorted and passed on to the Award committee.  An expert selection panel representing one member from each state and territory will select four nominees in the four award categories.The Mental Health Advocate of the Year, Mental Health Volunteer of the Year, Mental Health Organisation of the Year, Young Mental Health Icon of the Year will be announced and the nominators will be informed of their successful nomination.
  • October: Awards will be presented to the successful award winners at the National Mental Health Month Launch in Canberra in October 2021.


An individual only needs to be nominated once to be considered, but maybe nominated again in consecutive years. Nominations open 9 June, 11:00am, and closes on 31 August, 5:00pm.

Electronic submissions are preferred where possible, but if you wish to submit a hard copy submission, please send them to the below address and Att: to The Manager. Refer to the nomination page for the details to include in your postal nomination. 

Have questions about the Awards? We have answers for you.



Mental Health Awards 2019

Mental Health Awards Winners 2020


Get involved


Get In Touch